Albright Visitor Center & Museum (Mammoth)


Constructed by the U.S. Cavalry in the early 1900s as part of Fort Yellowstone, the Albright Visitor Center and Museum represents Yellowstone’s largest information center. Formerly housing bachelor officers’ quarters, the Albright Visitor Center now houses regional history and general park information. Visitors will find exhibits and displays regarding Native Americans, mountain men, exploration parties, the presence of the U.S. Cavalry, and the establishment of the National Park Service. A wildlife display on the second floor is complemented with the Moran Gallery and Jackson Gallery. These galleries showcase reproductions of painter Thomas Moran and original 1871 park photographs from William Henry Jackson.

The center also includes a theater where rangers show the films The Challenge of Yellowstone and Thomas “Yellowstone” Moran every half hour during the summer. Films are also presented upon request during winter. The visitor center is open 365 days a year with extended summer hours running through September. The Division of Resource Management and Visitor Protection also utilizes the Albright Center each summer to maintain a backcountry office. This office provides backcountry visitor permits for boating, fishing, and camping. Call (307) 344-2263.

Home | Free Brochures | Bookstore | Vacation / Relocation Planner | Yellowstone National Park Tour | Search Our Site
Copyright © 2011 • New Times Media Corporation • All Rights Reserved